To post or not to post

I’m a writer. Sort of. I’ve written over a thousand pages of stories, but save fanfiction, which is self-published anyway, I’ve never had anything published.

IMG-20140615-00926I know I don’t have much time left. I maybe have a decade, give or take. I don’t want to die without my stories being finished, read, and enjoyed by at least one person. But fear of rejection keeps holding me back. Fear of rejection, of being flamed, of being called a hack or a shitty writer…

But then I thought, okay. But you never even try. You have to try.

A few years ago, I once tried to write a serial online story on LiveJournal, a funny first-person fantasy that I would write on the fly with very loose notes and have the inclusion of fans in the content as it went on.

But it never caught on. No one cared. No one wanted to read it. So after a while, I stopped writing it, and no one noticed.

Recently, with my sudden increase in online writing, I’ve suddenly reconsidered. I’ve been working on a rewrite for the story for months, now, but I never thought about republishing it. I admit that if I did, I risk being plagiarised, especially since WordPress doesn’t have copyright protection on original content (I think?).

But then I noticed that there actually are writers on this website, who post their original work and become quite successful. So once again I’m struck with the idea of writing a free, web-based online serial of a story, in hopes of getting my name and style out there and thus helping me get my other stuff published, too.

So now I ask anyone who reads this: Would you be interested in seeing fiction from me? If so, can you help me find out if I’m protected? Or, better yet, spread the word and help me get a readership, so I can get input and have people reading and commenting and caring. That’d be cool.

So… Shall I jump in feet-first to the pool of online story-writing? Comment and let me know, or simply like this post as a “yes” in my favour. Dislike if you would rather me not do it.

I wouldn’t use this blog (TaraRambles) to write it, but create a new one attached to this. I would also probably update at least once a week with a new chapter, the very worst being once a month. And to get a taste of the story, it stares a plucky hero, his childhood friends a sorceress and a healer, and the main character and narrator is a dry, cynical “Reader”, hired to do a simple translation that would inevitably make an adventurer out of her, too, no matter how hard she protested.

Sounds good or bad? You know the drill. Lemme know! 😀

Leave a comment